June + July Wrap-Up Post

IMG_4906As I was writing up July’s post I realized I hadn’t done June’s! I’ve decided to just combine both posts. In June I read four books 😦 and in July I read five. Some of my favourites include:

Of Fire and Stars – this is a standalone YA fantasy novel by Audrey Coulthurst with an f/f romance. I absolutely loved this one! I liked that even though the main characters, Denna and Mare were very different, I didn’t favour one over the other. Sometimes with books, there’s that one character I really admire over the others, that one character I look up to or really want to be. With Denna and Mare, I honestly couldn’t choose who I liked more – they were both incredible protagonists.

Flying Lessons and Other Stories – this is a middle-grade anthology edited by Ellen Oh and I think it was my first ever anthology. Most of the stories were four or five stars for me, so if you’re looking to get into middle-grade, this is a great way of finding authors and seeing what writing styles you like/dislike.

See You in the Cosmos – this MG debut by Jack Cheng was unlike anything I’ve ever read! The protagonist, Alex is a really smart but naive kid who wants to send his iPod into space so that aliens can see, or rather hear what life on earth is like. An interesting aspect of this novel, the author has turned the recordings into transcripts, so it’s like the reader is the one who received them. Dialogue would either be Alex repeating or summarizing what someone said, or someone(s) talking as Alex is recording (like a script). If Alex didn’t record something, we didn’t hear about it. Whether or not you’re a big MG reader, this is definitely not a book you want to miss out on!

June Books Read:

The Shadow Hour by Melissa Grey

Flying Lessons and Other Stories, Edited by Ellen Oh, Authors: Kwame Alexander, Kelly J. Baptist, Soman Chainani, Matt de la Pena, Tim Federle, Grace Lin, Meg Medina, Walter Dean Myers, Tim Tingle, and Jacqueline Woodson

Naruto Gaiden by Kishimoto Masashi

Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst

July Books Read:

How Dare the Sun Rise by Sandra Uwiringiyimana

Deadmen Walking by Sherrilyn Kenyon

See You in the Cosmos by Jack Cheng

Two Naomis by Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich and Audrey Vernick

Inuyasha Vol. 10 by Rumiko Takahashi

ICYMI:

Top 5 June Releases

Mini Review: Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza

Top 5 July Releases

Mini Review: American Street by Ibi Zoboi

Leave a Reply

