August Wrap-Up Post

23381012So I read a total of five books in August, which feels like even less because four of those were novella-length 😦 Hopefully I’ll be able to read at least ten in September.

Books Read:

Born to Endless Night by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan

Angels Twice Descending by Cassandra Clare and Robin Wasserman

Vampire Knight Vol. 11-12 by Matsuri Hino – these were the only books I gave 5 stars to, so let’s hope for more 4-5 star reads in September

Circle of Jinn by Lori Goldstein

I did get to finish a series this month (Circle of Jinn), which is one of my goals of 2016. I’m glad I read the Becoming Jinn/Circle of Jinn series, but overall there are other series I enjoyed more so I wish I put more time into those versus this one. You can read my full review here and decide whether this series is for you. I was not, however, able to read a single book for ARC August, which is really disappointing.

I feel like I’ve been concentrating so much on reading 2015/2016 debut novels that I’ve forgotten a bit about what I really wanted to do this year re: my reading goals. I love reading debuts and supporting these, usually, brand new authors but there are so many series I love and want to get caught up on. I’ve decided that for the last four months of 2016 I’m going to try and read backlist titles as well as books I’ve been putting off for months. Don’t be alarmed, I’m still going to read debuts, but only if I already own or have placed a library hold on it.

So I’d love to know what books you’re planning to read in September? Is anyone else going through something similar, where you try to support new authors but also end up putting off books you really want to read?

ICYMI:

Book Review: Nil Remembered by Lynne Matson

Book Review: The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

Author Interview with Courtney Summers

One thought on “August Wrap-Up Post

  1. I sooo need to finish the Shadowhunter Chronicles. I have read 4 novellas till now but then life intruded and I had to stop, but I should definitely pick it up sooon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

