April Wrap-Up Post

IMG_0850Hi everyone! I’m a little getting this post out, but this past week has been a little hectic. I started my first week of classes for the summer semester, spent yesterday celebrating my sister’s birthday (yay for cake!) and have been busy trying to catch up on some reading. So in April I read a total of eight books. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to read anything for ARC April 😦 Many of those were novella-length so I feel like I cheated a bit with my reading challenge, but a book is a book.

 

Books Read:

Genius of Jinn by Lori Goldstein

Flames Like Vines by Sara Raasch

A Dawn Most Wicked by Susan Dennard

Roar and Liv, an Under the Never Sky story by Veronica Rossi

Night of Cake and Puppets by Laini Taylor

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

The Demon in the Wood by Leigh Bardugo

Vampire Knight Vol. 6 by Matsuri Hino

A Dawn Most Wicked was my favourite April read! This is a prequel novella to Dennard’s Something Strange and Deadly series, so it gives a bit of backstory to Daniel as well as other characters like Joseph and Jie. The writing is gorgeous and I was completely and totally in Daniel’s head (told from Daniel’s POV). If you’re not already a fan of Daniel, this novella is sure to change your mind. I recommend you read this only after reading Something Strange and Deadly, but it isn’t required. You can read my review here.

ICYMI:

Nefarious Tales: Disney Villains & their Backstories

How did everyone do with their April reading goals? Anything to recommend?

7 thoughts on “April Wrap-Up Post

  1. Great reading month! How did I miss the fact that there’s a prequel novella for the Something Strange and Deadly trilogy!? I don’t think I’ll get to it anytime soon as it’s been 2 years since I’ve read them and I feel like I’ll need to reread them first!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! It was only released as an ebook. I myself was only able to read it now because I saw my library had it. I feel like it stands on its own, I haven’t read the trilogy for over a year and didn’t feel like I was missing or forgetting anything. Someone should only read SS&D before the prequel novella because there are a couple spoilers for SS&D (related to Daniel + plot).

      Like

  2. Why did I not know that Sooz wrote a novella for SS&D? I am going to need to read it yesterday. Sounds like another amazing addition to the story. I have been getting behind in my reading for May. It is such a busy time of year, isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel you on summer classes, I’m starting up again on Monday and I’m sure I’ll have very little free time! Roar and Liv was a really important short for that series; honestly, I feel like you need to read it to get the full impact of the second book. This reminds me that I still need to read Rossi’s new book! 🙂

    Like

  4. I enjoyed Truthwitch so I definitely have to look into Susan Dennard’s previous works ❤ Great month you had here, happy reading in May!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

