2016 Goals & Resolutions

IMG_9195

Hi everyone! Happy New Year! I cannot believe it’s already 2016?! Last year I read a total of 72 books, which I’m so proud of compared to 2014 when I read around 30-ish books. I also participated in the #50 Book Pledge, the 105 Challenge (hosted by Nori at Read Write Love 28) and the ARC August Challenge (hosted by Octavia & Shelly at Read Sleep Repeat).

This year I’m challenging myself to read 75 books, sticking within four different categories:

Category One: 2016 new releases

Category Two: Books added to my TBR pile in 2015 – it’s so easy clicking that “Want to Read” button on Goodreads.

Category Three: Books added to my TBR pile before 2015 – I seriously have so many!

Category Four: Books I Own – it’s so easy buying books and letting them sit on my shelf; they may not have eyes, but they’re always staring at me!

Originally I was going to apply a set number of books for each category, but I don’t like putting myself in a box. Instead, I’ll read two books from category four, then one book from category one, two, or three and repeat. That way I’m actually making a dent in the amount of books I own and haven’t read!

I also can’t start a new series unless I finish two. We’ll see how that one goes … maybe I’ll make an exception for 2016 releases. 🙂

Here are some series I hope to finish/get caught up on:

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Dust Lands series by Moira Young

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Chronicles of Nick by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartman

Some series or authors I want to start:

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

And two very important goals:

Read all the books of Sherrilyn Kenyon and Brian Jacques!

I am a huge fan of Sherrilyn Kenyon and so sad to admit I can’t remember the last time I picked up one of her books! Whenever I see a book of hers in a store, I always buy it. If you’ve never read or heard of her (where have you been living?!), you need to run to the bookstore/library because her books are incredible. Most of her books are part of a series, but each is written as a standalone; so you could pick up the most recent one and still be able to understand what’s going on – though it helps if you read them in chronological order.

I’ve wanted to read Brian Jacques’ books since hearing that my favourite childhood tv show, Redwall was based on his book series (same name). I’m curious, how many of you remember/watched the tv show or read the books?

Reading/Blogging Challenges I’m participating In:

Non-Reading Goals:

  • write a page a day
  • keep a reading journal => I’m on track with this one because I’ve been keeping one since late September
  • go to the gym more often (3x a week)

So there you have it! These are the things I want to accomplish in 2016! Are any of these similar to your own goals and resolutions (like books you want to read or challenges you’re participating in)? I’d love to hear about them!

17 thoughts on “2016 Goals & Resolutions

  1. You have some great books to look forward to in 2016! I loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone, and Shadow and Bone! They are very different stories and I loved them so much! Good luck with your goals.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Another awesome post. I have no idea who Sherrilyn Kenyon is so I will have to check it out. I adored the Redwall book as a younger person and had no idea there was a movie. I may have to watch that. And I have reviewed the Rae Carson series and her other books. Check out me Map Legend on my blog for links to same if interested. Happy reading!
    x The Captain

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sherrilyn mainly writes adult paranormal romance so it depends where your book interest lies. She does have a YA series. They made an animated kids show based off Redwall, there were three seasons. Thanks, I’ll be sure to check them out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

