Shrinking the TBR Pile

IMG_9118So I have this really bad habit of buying books and never getting to them until maybe months or years later. I realized there’s just three months left of 2015 and with the new year, comes all these amazing 2016 books I’m dying to read! Before that happens, I really want to cut down on my to-be-read pile so I feel a little less guilty about starting those 2016 releases. I’ve decided to challenge myself to a really focused monthly reading challenge. Emphasis on the focused. What sort of challenge will I be adopting for October? I’m only going to be reading books I’ve bought or received* in September.

Here they are:

Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch (eARC)

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Firewalker by Josephine Angelini

At the Water’s Edge by Sara Gruen

The Illegal by Lawrence Hill

Did You Ever Have a Family by Bill Clegg

Anne and Henry by Dawn Ius

Tonight the Streets Are Ours by Leila Sales

Hollywood Witch Hunter by Valerie Tejeda (ebook)

Air Awakens by Elise Kova (ebook)

Fire Falling by Elise Kova (eARC)

The Heartless City by Andrea Berthot (ebook)

*Some of these are review copies I’ve received from the publisher or author so I’m using a loophole to read them this month. Also, you’ll notice in the picture Shadow and Bone and Tonight the Streets Are Ours are library books, but the authors’ are doing a book event mid-October so I want to read them beforehand.

Have you read any of these? What did you think?

6 thoughts on “Shrinking the TBR Pile

  1. Shadow and Bone is book one of my favorite series of all time. I really hope that you love it. Pretty much everything she writes I adore. I will also be reading Air Awakens and Fire Falling very soon. As well as Snow Like Ashes because I’m going to an event for Ice like Fire so I better at read the first book, right?

    I’ve read Firewalker, and although I love Trial by Fire I was disappointed with it in general. Hopefully you’ll like it though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. EEEE YOU HAVEN’T READ SHADOW AND BONE YET? Of course that must be a priority! 😀 I also need to read Tonight the Streets Are Ours, considering I have an ARC and the book’s out already?? And I’m also planning on reading Air Awakens… that’s been quite popular in the blogger community recently.
    I didn’t enjoy the first book, Snow Like Ashes a lot but I hope you enjoy its sequel! I know many people loved it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I finished Shadow and Bone on the weekend and LOVED IT!! I loved Snow Like Ashes and so far I’m loving the sequel. Yeah, I keep seeing Air Awakens thing ls and I’m like “I need to read it so I can be in on the conversation”!

      Like

Leave a Reply

